2014 NCAA Championship Field Set

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Ohio State University hosts the 2014 NCAA Fencing Championships

Ohio State University hosts the 2014 NCAA Fencing Championships

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Fencing Committee has announced the field of 144 competitors who will participate in the 2014 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships. Ohio State will host the championships at French Fieldhouse in Columbus, Ohio.

Among the field are 3 members of the 2012 US Olympic Fencing Team, Men’s Foilists Gerek Meinhardt (Notre Dame) and Alexander Massialas (Stanford) as well as Women’s Epeeist Susannah Scanlan (Princeton).

The men’s and women’s fencing championships include individual events in each of the six weapons (men’s épée, men’s foil, men’s sabre, women’s épée, women’s foil, women’s sabre).

Fencers will compete in a round-robin format of five-touch bouts.  After the round-robin, the top-four finishers in each weapon will fence in semifinal 15-touch bouts, with the winners fencing to determine first and second places, and the non-advancing fencers being awarded a tie for third place.

An institution’s place finish in the championships will be based on points earned by each individual.  A team will be awarded one point for each victory by its student-athletes for the duration of the championships. In 2013, Princeton won the NCAA championships followed by Notre Dame and then Penn State.

3 schools (Ohio State, Penn State, and Princeton) qualified the maximum of 12 athletes. Based on the scoring for NCAAs, having more athletes qualified gives the school a greater chance at amassing the points needed to win the overall NCAA championship. With 11 fencers qualified, Harvard and St. John’s look to be in contention also. Columbia and Notre Dame will have their work cut out for them with 10 fencers qualified in the tournament.

 Total fencers qualified by school:


Individuals Qualified for the 2014 NCAA Fencing Championships

The following individuals were selected to participate in this year’s championships:

Men’s Epee


Men’s Foil


Men’s Sabre


Women’s Epee


Women’s Foil


Women’s Sabre



Geef een reactie

Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.